Scientific Advisory Board

Immunicum’s Scientific Advisory Board represents a group of individuals with a broad competence and extensive experience from the Life Science industry.

  • Bengt Furberg

    Bengt Furberg

    Chairman of the SAB

    M.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor of Clinical Physiology
    Born 1941

    Bengt Furberg is an expert in clinical trials and has written several books and scientific articles on the topic. He spent 10 years as Medical Director of British GlaxoWellcome in Sweden and was also part of the company’s management team in addition to being member of the corporate group’s Medical Board and Safety Board. Since 1994, he has also been member of the Swedish Academy for Pharmaceutical Sciences. Bengt Furberg currently works as VP of Medical Affairs at Artimplant. He is also a member of the board of directors at Dignitana.

    Independence: Bengt is independent from the Company, its management and its primary shareholders.

    Member of the Board since 2008.

  • Anders Ohlen

    Anders Öhlén

    Member of the SAB

    M.D., Ph.D. CEO of the Swedish Pharmaceutical Insurance
    Born 1953

    Anders Öhlén has extensive experience as a senior executive in drug development and medical affairs from Kabi Pharmacia, Astra, Aventis and Bristol-Myers Squibb. He has worked in several therapy areas and has been involved in all aspects of product life cycle management. From 2010 to 2016 he has been CEO of the Swedish Pharmaceutical Insurance.

  • Rolf Kiessling

    Rolf Kiessling

    Member of the SAB

    M.D., Ph.D. Professor of Experimental Oncology, Karolinska Institutet
    Born 1948

    Rolf Kiessling is a professor of Experimental Oncology at Karolinska Institutet since 1995 and has a part-time position as Chief Physician at Radiumhemmet, Karolinska hospital. R.K. has published more than 200 publications in peer review journals and has broad scientific expertise in the field of experimental and clinical immunology. Among his earliest achievements, he discovered and named the NK- cell during the mid 70s, a discovery for which he was awarded ”Anders Jahres medicinska pris for yngre forskare” 1985 and ”Erik Fehrnströms pris” 1989. A more recent research focus of his group has been the area of immune therapy of cancer where his group is carrying out investigator initiated clinical trials on cancer patients and also performing basic research in pre-clinical animal models.

  • Roger Henriksson

    Roger Henriksson

    Member of the SAB

    M.D., Ph.D. Professor of Experimental Oncology
    Born 1953

    Roger Henriksson is professor of experimental oncology and Chief Physician, Medical Oncology and Radiotherapy since 1994. He has also served as Senior Medical Director (advisor) at Astra Zeneca, globally, part time since 2000. Roger Henriksson has published more than 270 publications in peer reviewed journals regarding all phases of drug development. Current scientific positions include Head/Deputy Head of the Dept of Radiation Sciences, Chairman of the National (Nordic 2001) Group for Treatment of cns Tumours, Member of the Scientific Advisory Board for the Swedish Cancer Society, Board Member of the National Group for Treatment of Lung cancer.

  • Curt Furberg

    Curt Furberg

    Member of the SAB

    Professor of Public Health Sciences
    Born 1936

    Dr. Furberg is an internationally recognized cardiovascular epidemiologist with expertise in clinical trials and public health. He coauthored the first text on clinical trials methodology entitled ”Fundamentals of Clinical Trials.” He is also the coauthor of a new text, “Data Monitoring in Clinical Trials. A Case Studies Approach”, and has published more than 400 articles. As a strong proponent for evidence-based medicine, his public health background provides a strong foundation for his views on drug evaluation and patient safety. He has served on the fda Advisory Committee on Drug Safety and Risk Management and testified before Congress. Dr. Furbergʼs honors and awards include the National Institutes of Health Directorʼs Award, the Womenʼs Health Initiative Achievement Award (nhlbi), the Established Investigator in Clinical Science Award – Wake Forest University, Ancel Keys Lecture Award – American Heart Association, the Joseph Stokes, III Award – American Society of Preventive Cardiology, a Doctor Honoris Causa Award – Umeå University, Sweden and The Rockefeller Foundation Residency Award, Bellagio, Italy, Fellow of the Society for Clinical Trials, and Healthcare Heroes Award.